About Us

The Southwest Colorado Law Enforcement Training Alliance is a collaborative venture by law enforcement professionals in Southwest Colorado,

to provide access to quality training to certified peace officers. The Alliance originated in 2004 as the Southwest POST Training Committee, whose focus was to seek and administer grant funds generated by the passage of Colorado Senate Bill 03-103, which created the Peace Officer Training Project. The Peace Officer Training Project provides funding to rural law enforcement agencies to provide training and is supported through fees paid on vehicle registrations.

Since the committee’s inception, member agencies have sponsored training associated with the POST Grant and in 2014, a decision was made to change the name of the committee to the Southwest Regional Law Enforcement Training Alliance (SWCLETA) to more accurately reflect the mission of the organization.

The Southwest Colorado Law Enforcement Training Alliance represents nineteen city, county, state, and tribal law enforcement agencies in Southwest Colorado, which encompasses Archuleta, Dolores, La Plata, Montezuma and San Juan counties.

SWCLETA provides training opportunities by presenting classes in the region that reflect best practices in law enforcement training, as well as providing scholarships for officers to travel outside the region to receive professional training.

The following agencies are represented by SWCLETA:

  • Archuleta County Sheriff’s Office
  • Bayfield Marshal’s Office
  • Cortez Police Department
  • Dolores County Sheriff’s Office
  • Durango Police Department
  • Fort Lewis College Police Department
  • Ignacio Police Department
  • La Plata County Sheriff’s Office
  • Mancos Marshal’s Office
  • Montezuma County Sheriff’s Office
  • Pagosa Springs Police Department
  • San Juan County Sheriff’s Office
  • Colorado Parks and Wildlife
  • Colorado State Patrol
  • Colorado Bureau of Investigation
  • 6th Judicial District
  • 22nd Judicial District
  • Southern Ute Police Department
  • Ute Mountain Ute Police Department